It’s All In the Hands

Hand-derived units of measurement: 1: Shaftmen...

Image via Wikipedia

 In the course of two consecutive days I came across a blog by Doug Stow (Wisdom of Hands) and a book by Matthew B. Crawford: “Shop Class as Soulcraft: An Inquiry into the Value of Work""

They sent my brain in search of the threads that connect them to my life and my interests.

Stow has a Ph.D. in philosophy  and operates a motorcycle shop. His blog is about “sharing the concept that our hands are essential to learning… engaging the world and its wonders, sensing and creating primarily through the agency of our hands.”

Schoolteacher Crawford makes the case that working with our hands is, “less about economics than with the ‘experience’ of making and fixing things.”

In aikido practice our hands are an intimate connection to our Uke.  We feel their energy, their sweat, and their intentions. We tumble with our Uke. We use our hands to redirect them in a peaceful way.  We send their energy away.

In writing our hands relay and transform what’s in the heart and mind to a screen or to paper.  We edit with our fingers, getting our words properly connected from one heart to another.

I trust that through using my hands I will find out what they have to tell me.  I believe that they can teach me in a way that transcends thought.

What are your hands saying to you?

Leave a Reply

