Expectations in Gassho

National Day of Prayer

Image via Wikipedia

Sensei Bonnie Myotai Treace, referring to the writing of the Buddhist nun Rengetsu says,”[her] writing is so strong that it is immediately engaging and stirs that sense of trust and humility which comes so naturally when excellence takes hold of one’s attention.”

That remark reminds me of seeing old black and white videos of O’Sensei practicing aikido or when I get to read a dharma talk by D.T. Suzuki. They just grab you: they are the real deal.

It also makes me wonder about acceptable expectations of the senseis at the local dojo or sangha.  Should I expect that they are far enough along the path that they ‘stir trust and humility?’ Or is my uncertainty — that wondering and listening– what I’m supposed to bring to my own practice?

Leave a Reply

