This Moment

View On Black View of Gothenburg from the dock...

Image via Wikipedia

There’s a Zen saying that gets thrown around a lot, to the point of overuse: “There’s no yesterday and no tomorrow, there’s only this moment”.

I am certainly guilty of over thinking past transgressions and wondering what’s still on my To Do list. Seldom do I just stay in the moment.

Recently a favorite blogger I follow stopped me short when she talked about spending New Years Eve  with her very sick dying husband in the intensive care unit of a hospital. She said that at midnight, “I kissed my guy. And he kissed me! We softly said “Happy New Year,” fully aware of the finer nuances.”

Talk about savoring in the moment and living in the present! Why does it take a crisis for most of us to get this notion of mindfulness?

 

Leave a Reply

