Meanwhile

Meanwhile

my life has gone on.

Both of you no longer

have to worry about me,

your son.

Your time done.

Your business finished.

Meanwhile,

with  my babies,

nurturing, parenting, supporting.

Worrying comes naturally.

Is that what you did?

Meanwhile,

I can’t assume

babies know , “I love you”.

I just say them.

Over and over,

out loud,

even when it

embarrasses them.

Meanwhile,

I notice the flowers

blooming at your graveside.

Is that your way

of finally saying,

“ I love you”

— Senior Samurai


Leave a Reply

