Doorways Don’t Cause Alzheimer’s

Doorways

Tell me you haven’t experienced it: the frustration of entering a room and forgetting what you were going to do. Or get. Or find.

Universityof Notre Dame Psychology professor Gabriel Radvansky’s research suggests that passing through doorways is the cause of these lapses.

“Entering or exiting through a doorway serves as an ‘event boundary’ in the mind, which separates episodes of activity and files them away,” Radvansky explained. “Recalling the decision or activity that was made in a different room is difficult because it has been compartmentalized.”

Apparently crossing a threshold  impedes the ability to retrieve thoughts or decisions made in a different room.

So what? Well, it has helped me to worry less about why, from the time I leave the dojo, cross numerous thresholds, and return that I sometimes feel like I’m regressing toward infantile behavior.  I’ve stopped wondering if it’s “aging gone bad” or possibly a brain on the way to mush.

It’s a relief to think that it’s caused by that metal and wooden doorway.

Whew!

I guess I can take off the tinfoil hat.

Leave a Reply

