Things I Think I Think

Thinking

Thinking (Photo credit: Moyan_Brenn)

 1.     I always have the same reaction to TV Commercials that have a louder volume than the show I was just watching. I don’t want to buy that product because it treats me with disrespect. I’m not hard of hearing. Take heed TV advertisers people like me who are consumers might just say, screw your product!

 

2.     Players in the National football league get bigger, faster and seemingly more violent each season. Wonder what the head trauma injuries research will turn up?

3.     We are all enlightened until we open our mouth.

4.   If politicians really cared about their constituents they would all    adopt the mantra, “Everybody or Nobody.”

5.    I’ve come to believe that it’s some form of arrogance light that when we go to sleep at night we assume that we will wake up the next morning.

6.   According to my wife, if we gathered up a large group of post-menopausal women and turned them lose on our current batch of white, male politicians, things would get straightened out. Promptly, and painfully if necessary, but they would get straightened out

7.   As I get older and a new ache or pain shows up, a little voice on my left shoulder asks, ‘is this the start of something big?”

8.  The word ‘impolitic’ is a word that really means not telling the truth or trying to smooth over reality. Either way it belongs in the universal Hall of Shame

9.  The foot soldier has a special feel for the ground, especially if the ground he’s walking on possibly is covering an IED.

One Response to “Things I Think I Think”

  1. bobritzema Says:

    As to #5: When I was a teenager, a cross stitched prayer hung on the wall of my little brother’s bedroom. It read:

    Now I lie me down to sleep
    I pray the Lord my soul to keep
    If I should die before I wake
    I pray the Lord my soul to take
    If I should live ’til other days
    I pray the Lord to guide my ways.

    At the time, I thought talk of dying before waking was overly morbid. Fifty years later, it seems to me that the prayer gives a balanced presentation of the two possibilities.

Leave a Reply

