Slush Pile

Bruce Springsteen, Drammenshallen, Norway

Bruce Springsteen, Norway (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I keep a moving list or  file titled Possible Topics.  Other writers keep notebooks and journals.  My wife uses the back of every envelope or ‘stray’ piece of paper in the house and sometimes an EverNote file called Slushy.

Regardless of the method or the title, they are collections of words, phrases, characters, places or partial sentences we want to write about….sometime.

Lately I’ve noticed some things on my list are there because they “sounded good at the time” but have yet to hatch into a post.  Some of them have been hangin’ around so long they’re starting to get a little gray at the temples.

Here’s my current list:

  • “Let things come home to your heart”
  • “Do not shoot from an open wound.” (Writing while angry.)
  • “Sleep near the front door.” (Living in a high-crime urban neighborhood.)
  • Toe tags
  • “Don’t separate from your source of sacredness”
  • Hermitage: Condo-style
  • “I’m dying and you’re going to be an orphan.”
  • “For six months there were crickets”
  • Presidential auto-pen for signing letters vs. a place for the human touch.
  • If we have a lizard brain can it be offset by sunset and joy
  • Concept: combine song words and/or lines to make an essay. Consider starting with: Peter, Paul , and Mary, Otis Redding, The Platters, Cat Stevens (Yuseh Islam), The Beatles and Bruce Springsteen.
  • “It takes dying to slow us down.” — Frank Ostaseski

What’s on your list?

3 Responses to “Slush Pile”

  1. bearshouse Says:

    -walking slowly, even when in a hurry
    -trying to notice each sense
    -gardening
    -my wife
    -my daughter
    -something i learned recently called the Sacred Pause without Prejudice
    -something i learned a few years ago called the Felt Sense
    -sore muscles
    -things i read from thich naht hahn
    just off the top of my head

  2. – spiritual heritage (inspired by a conversation with bearshouse above)
    – a dream I had
    – a “paper hug” I got from my niece for Valentine’s Day (quite awesome)

  3. I’m a human doing
    holding the hand of fear
    horse shit
    mophine mom
    radical acceptance
    words in space

    What an awesome post! I love seeing other people’s lists. I thought I might be the only one. Mine tent to be on scraps of paper. 🙂

Leave a Reply

