David Budbill: Modern Day Hermit?

Spring Dawn of the Hermit-living Mountains,col...

Spring Dawn of the Hermit-living Mountains,color on paper,hanging scroll 仙山春暁図 絹本着色 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been here forty years.
I’d like to be here forty more.
The longer I’m here the less
I want to go away, the less
I want to be known. I’d like to
disappear into these mountains,
and never be seen again. I just
want to do my work, make my
poems, and be left alone.
I want to stay here to the end.

I’ve led a happy life
doing what I want to do.
How could I be so lucky?

Ad multos annos,  David Budbill.

Leave a Reply

