2nd Floor Roomie

Spider from Koovery

Spider from Koovery (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Somewhere in the spring of this year I acquired a roommate. I don’t remember advertising for one or thinking I needed another source of income, but one showed up anyway. I first noticed my new ‘roomy’ when she set about spinning a web outside in the corner of my 2nd story office window. Then, just like in a Sangha, she sat there motionless doing whatever spiders do. And, like  meditation, she did it without moving and seemingly without a care in the world. After all, life for her was good. She had a home with a view overlooking the pond outside and inside she could keep a vigilant eye on me. In her protected corner, breezes brought a steady abundance of  flying delicacies, there was safety from wind and rain, and most of all I was a human friend who was not about to take a broom to her house.

As the days passed our relationship grew. Every morning I looked to see if she was still there. She in turn showed me how she could spin webs into beautiful artwork and how to wrap up a dragon fly in seconds. But the most beautiful part of our time together was to simply sit still and ponder our respective kingdoms. She didn’t seem to be too worried about who won the Presidential election,  the previous weekends football scores, or even if the grass needed mowing.  She followed Abraham Maslow’s heirarchy of needs triangle established a simple life of: food, shelter, clothing and safety.

 In the end, it dawned on me that she is definitely a Zen spider and/or had to be my Grandmother from another life.

Leave a Reply

