Small Is Good

Recently I had my annual physical examination, but this time a significant life event occurred.  All of us have experienced the initial steps before the actual examination: get up on the scale and get weighed, pull the metal bar down to check our height, and move on to the examination room table for a blood pressure,  and eyes and ears look around. All this before the high priest known as ‘Doctor’ arrives.

Normally I ask about the blood pressure, note my weight, but this time I faced a new stunning reality when the nurse mentioned my height.  I was 1 ½ inches shorter than when I was a young adult.

The reality is that in all those years of annual physicals I never asked about or noted  my height. Now let me state for the record my full vertical height was only 5’6” at its peak so an inch and a half is significant.

I’ve  given a  great deal of thought to this travesty and instead of buying one of those machines that turns

me upside down to stretch my spine  I have reconciled this loss of statue with the notion that it happens to everyone. We get shorter as we age. I’m also confident that I probably will not diminish to elf stature and so I’ve  adopted the insightful philosophical mantra, “Suck it up cupcake.”

 

 

 

One Response to “Small Is Good”

  1. It happens to the best of us. I am down to 5’9″ from over 5’11”.

Leave a Reply

